Designated Market Areas

Designated Market Areas (DMAs) delineates the geographic boundaries of all 210 distinctive regions that Neilsen uses to assess TV penetration of audience counts within the US for a viewership year. The DMA code is created by Nielsen’s assignment of a 3-digit number (for identification and processing purposes).


  • Provides consistent boundary definitions for collecting, tabulating and publishing statistics for Designated Market Areas
  • Enables organizations to assess needs and implement business decisions using Designated Market Area polygons


  • DMA Boundaries are defined by current county boundaries. When viewership within a county is split, or if a DMA boundary splits a county, ZIP code boundaries are used instead.
  • Boundaries are updated annually as DMA County assignments change to reflect the most current television year.


  • DMA boundary data
  • DMA point (inventory) data
  • DMA name and 3-digit code
  • Total area of each DMA (in square miles)
  • 210 distinctive DMAs within US including Hawaii and Alaska


United States
Release schedule
Unit of Sale

Contact a product expert today.

Contact Us

Want to see additional products?

Find the data you need to gain insight, drive growth and minimize risk.

Return to Home

For more information, visit